Global Baseball

One man\’s year-long journey through the world of baseball

Batista Blog

I don’t know how I missed this for so long, but Seattle Mariners’ pitcher Miguel Batista, a native of the Dominican Republic, has a blog up at ESPNDeportes.  The most recent article is a fun report on teammate Ichiro’s clubhouse demeanor called “the Samurai Hitter.”

A rough translation of the first two paragraphs :

There are a lot of things you normally see in a major league clubhouse, like listening to rap or heavy metal, players saying the most horrible things to each other, seeing a group of players dancing, bobbing their heads up and down to the rhythm, or making rookies dress up like women.

But of one thing I am positive.  You don’t often see a Japanese player pass by you in stride and say to you in perfect Spanish, “Dimelo Caballete!”

Batista may not be a star, but he seems like a funny guy.  I’ll be reading this semi-regularly for sure.

May 5, 2007 - Posted by | Batista Blog, Ichiro

5 Comments »

  1. […] Batista Blog I don?t know how I missed this for so long, but Seattle Mariners? pitcher Miguel Batista, a native of the Dominican Republic, has a blog up at ESPNDeportes. The most recent article is a fun report on teammate Ichiro?s clubhouse demeanor … […]

    Pingback by Batista » Batista May 5, 2007 5:03 pm | May 5, 2007

  2. hi batista hola camostas um i am a big big fan of yours and so is my brother nikko to me you are a big hero i watch you alot but i can never go and watch you live thats a thing i am so sad about and batista your the best. yours truly
    angela**

    Comment by angela | August 7, 2007

  3. I read his avenger of blood, not bad for a baseball pitcher. Unfortunately the English translation of his ESPN blog is crappy! Too bad for us English speakers. I also read a lot of articles about him and his girlfriend Taj. Most of those were very positive, but I think he pissed a lot of women back in his days. Some comments were not flattering at all! I am mostly interested with his girlfriend. Taj sounds like an amazing woman! How in the world did he meet her? Most of those baseball players don’t have any taste when it comes to women. Fortunately for Miguel, he found himself a classy woman. Of all the ahletes wives or girlfriends, Taj is definitely is the one the I want to meet in person. Most of the articles were raving about her. I don’t mind moving to arizona and endure the heat if I am guaranteed to meet someone like her. Taj if ever you get single, please put in NY times magazine headline!

    Comment by Dan | August 31, 2007

  4. I Hi there! I’m in search for credit cards with airline miles. There are several offers at three websites. But I chose one site about credit. Is a reliable, please, tell me? Go to

    approval for credit card in minutes discover

    Comment by arcelia | December 17, 2007

  5. I am a Mariners fan from Argentina. Very nice Mariners information.
    I am a big fan of Ichiro Suzuki and am disappointed that JJ Putz was traded.
    I hope to be in Seattle for a game this summer.

    Comment by I got a Mariners Ichiro Suzuki Jersey | March 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

