Global Baseball

One man\’s year-long journey through the world of baseball

Not dead…just resting

August 30th, 2006

Apologies to those of you expecting more regular updates. I’ve been travelling around the country a lot over the past couple of weeks. I’ve seen some amazing things, including (but not limited to) some great baseball. The DSL season wrapped up on August 25th and the playoffs began on Monday.

Current matchups in the first, best of 3 round:

DSL Yankees (1) vs. DSL Indians. Series tied 1-1. Perhaps interesting to some, this series features the DSL’s two most educated teams. Most major league teams put effort into teaching their players’ English, but the Yankees and Indians are really ahead of the game in the player services department. The Yankees have their players go through a full, 4-subject class schedule every day after drills and games. The Indians actually pay for their kids to go to private school. This is part of a larger philosophy that believes in a correlation between education and the average player’s ability to transition effectively to life in the United States.

The other match-ups are the Santo Domingo Norte champion Mariners vs. the Royals, who ran away with the Cibao division title. The series is tied 1-1, with the deciding game taking place today outside of Cibao. The Ms have better pitching, but the Royals’ offense is significantly better.

The other two playoff teams are the Tigers and Pirates, from Santo Domingo Oeste and San Pedro de Macoris, respectively. I’m unclear on the playoff format. I do know that these two teams haven’t played a game against each other yet, and while I was at the Ms-Royals game yesterday, somebody told me that the winning team would go on to face the DSL Pirates, so I’m assuming that these teams both got byes into the semifinals.

In other news, I have a guest post up at Mariner Minors. I cut my teeth on baseball blogging as an Ms fan following the several excellent blogs out there covering the Mariners, and I was able to dig up a bunch of information of particular interest to Mariners’ prospect junkies. I figured MM was the best place to share it with people. If you’re an Ms fan, J. does great work over there, tirelessly digging up any and all information out there on Seattle’s farm system.
Finally, for general reading pleasure (assuming anyone still reads this blog after my hiatus), I decided to participate in Aaron Gleeman’s baseball bloggers’ Ipod Shuffle share. Here’s what came up after I shuffled through 50 songs. Feel free to criticize my taste in music mercilessly. I know what I like.

1. Bob Dylan, To Be Alone With You
2. Ween, Poop Ship Destroyer
3. Taj Mahal, Big Legged Mamas Are Back In Style Again
4. Charles Mingus, Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
5. Paul Simon, Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
6. Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Aimum
7. J-Live, Timeless
8. Bela Fleck and Edgar Meyer, Largo from Sonata
9. Nirvana, Old Age
10. Eels, Fresh Feeling
11. They Might Be Giants, ‘Till My Head Falls Off
12. Dilated Peoples, Self Defense
13. Buena Vista Social Club, Chan Chan
14. Bob Dylan, Buckets of Rain
15. Wyclef Jean, Year of the Dragon
16. John Lee Hooker, Boom Boom
17. Woody Guthrie, Baltimore to Washington
18. Red Hot Chili Peppers, Universally Speaking
19. Bob Dylan, Winterlude
20. Oscar Peterson, Who Can I Turn To?
21. Beck, Nitemare Hippy Girl
22. Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs, Foggy Mountain Breakdown
23. Broken Social Scene, Baroque Social
24. Arlo Guthrie, Last Train
25. Third Eye Navigators, Scholaticians
26. Eels, Rags to Rags
27. Johnny Cash, When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder
28. Grateful Dead, I Know You Rider,
29. New Grass Revival, Good Woman’s Love
30. Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, and Max Roach, Caravan
31. Gram Parsons, Knee Deep in the Blues
32. Wilco, How To Fight Loneliness
33. The Clash, Spanish Bombs
34. Yann Tiersen, Le Banquet (Amelie Soundtrack)
35. Steve Earle, Townes Van Zandt, and Guy Clark, Tom Ames’ Prayer
36. New Grass Revival, Souvenir Bottles,
37. Erik Petersen, Every Town Will Celebrate,
38. Aesop Rock, Skip Town,
39. The Seldom Scene, Doing My Time,
40. Credence Cleerwater Revival, Who’ll Stop The Rain?
41. Django Reinhardt, Naguine
42. Johnny Cash, Delia’s Gone
43. Pete Seeger, My Get Up and Go
44. Kris Kristofferson, The Junkie and the Juicehead, Minus Me
45. Robert Blake, A Hackensack Bar
46. Cat Stevens, Can’t Keep It In
47. The Pixies, Gouge Away
48. Dry Branch Fire Squad, Down South in New Orleans
49. Sage Francis, Crack Pipes
50. Femi Kuti, Do Your Best

August 30, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Greetings,

    This is great stuff. I am producing a documentary on Latin American baseball, and would love to ask you a few questions. It seems like you have your ear to the ground on this. I.E. you have seen the Cuban defectors and are in contact with scouts and such.

    Right now we are in the process of development and are meeting with ESPN in a few weeks. If you are interested in hearing more about the project and possibly helping out please send me an email at lagan_sebert2003@yahoo.com or lsebert@afi.com.

    I myself was nominated for the watson and then my roomate beat me out for it. Hope your enjoying it. I was going to do basically your same project(I played ball through college), but then I chickened out and submitted a more “academic” project, meanwhile my roomate’s boxing proposal got chosen.

    By the way, this is not BS so email if you are interested.

    Nice musical taste, love to see j-live and earl scruggs on the same playlist.

    -lagan

    Comment by Lagan Sebert | August 31, 2006

  2. googled: director latin american operations and found you.
    My daughter attends Sewanee University in TN. They offer a grant for full immersion in one’s foreign language.I listen to BBthis morning and last year heard allot about (Erestes Destrade?) the culture shock awaiting unprepared latins on their way up an english speaking ladder. Could Devin find a position teaching english to players? LOVES baseball, seems like What a way to get to know THEIR culture. Any help or suggestions GREATly appreciated.She would be thrilled with any positive news/thoughts you might have popping up in her inbox….Thanks, I’m jealous.an artist http://www.12m.us
    Devin’s dad, Marc

    Comment by Marc johnson | September 2, 2006

  3. Just realized her email went up on your site. Can you get it down?

    Comment by Marc johnson | September 2, 2006

  4. Dude…??? I’m starting to worry about you. Did you meet a chica on the Malecon and run away with her?

    Comment by BrianE | October 19, 2006

  5. Same as the title guys, not dead, just resting.

    I’ve heard from him a few times lately, he’s in Mexico now covering the Mexican Pacific League, I think.

    Comment by J | October 24, 2006

  6. No Grateful Dead you should be shot !!!

    LMAO !!!

    Comment by Eduardo S Fernandez | February 19, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

